Sometimes it is Worth the Wait…

One of my favorite things to do is to sit outside on the deck on summer evenings, either reading, visiting with friends, or just watching the sunset behind the coulee.  Since we moved into our place in 2008, I have been on the search for the perfect outdoor patio set.  All we had when we moved in was a basic glass and metal table with 4 chairs; which didn’t exactly create the cozy nook I was hoping for.  Unfortunately, I could never find what I was looking for, for a price that would not break the bank.

Then, out of the blue, I was at the thrift store (again) and stumbled on this amazing vintage bamboo set for only $90.  The set was solid, as bamboo is known to be, and the cushions, despite needing to be recovered, were high density foam, covered in waterproof zippered cases.  Score.  I was easily sold on it.

IMG_3388 IMG_3387 IMG_3386 IMG_3385

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I brought the set home. took off the awful cushions and put it out on the deck to check it out.  I was just as stoked about it, if not more!

IMG_0586 IMG_0587 IMG_0588

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now I had a decision to make.  I knew that I COULD sew new covers but I really didn’t want to.  I am more into sewing projects that are not repetitive; like making ONE cushion cover, not 8!  So, I finally decided to get on it and research someone to do it for me.  I found this seller on etsy.com that was willing to make custom covers, based on the measurements I would send her.  I just had to go to fabric.com and pick my outdoor fabric.   I chose a beautiful summery print for the backs and decided to go with solids for the seats, just to mix it up a bit.  I made sure to choose a fabric that was fade and wear resistant.  Once I sent my fabric choices to her, she ordered it and I reimbursed her.  She then gave me a quote for the labor involved and I decided that it was totally worth it to not have to do it on my own!  I sent her the pillow measurements and she got to work.  She was amazingly fast, taking under a month to get them all done and her communication was stellar.  I would recommend her if anyone is looking to replace old dingy cushion covers.  Just click here.

Anyway, when they arrived, they fit beautifully and I was stoked at how much better it looked!  I love the piping she added as well, which I HATE doing!  The investment was beyond worth how much of a difference it made.  What do you think?

IMG_0832 IMG_0831 IMG_0830 IMG_0829 IMG_0827

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The coffee table you see in the photos will be featured in a separate post to come soon so stay tuned!

2 responses to “Sometimes it is Worth the Wait…

  1. Beautiful – and I love how great the blue and the green solids look with the patterned backs, and with each other. As we used to say when I was a kid, “Ya dun gud!”

Leave a Reply

