Apple Cinnamon Low Carb Protein Cake

apple cinnamon protein cakeSo I have been eating low carb protein bars for quite some time now.  One per day usually, especially if I had a good workout that day.  Unfortunately, the kind that I like are very expensive at $2 each!  So, today I went searching online for a recipe to make my own.  I wanted something under 150 calories with less than 5 g of sugar and at least 15 g of protein.  Also, my biggest criteria is that it be low carb; no more than 10 g each.  Oh and it had to be paleo of course.  Lots of stipulations usually means just make it up as I go.  What I normally do is plug in different ingredients into My Fitness Pal on my iPad until I get a recipe that meets my expectations.  Recently I have been enjoying the apple cinnamon tea by Stash in the evenings so I decided to try out a recipe with similar flavorings.  My original intention was to make protein BARS but my recipe turned out more like protein CAKE, hence the name of the recipe!  This is perfect for on-the-go breakfast!  Cake for breakfast?  I’m sold!

Apple Cinnamon Low Carb Protein Cake

9 scoops vanilla whey protein powder

1 cup almond meal (I just used my food processor to make my own with raw almonds but you can buy it this way as well)

4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp sea salt

1.5 Tbsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp allspice

1/2 tsp nutmeg

6 egg whites (or 3/4 cup if using from a container)

1/4 cup raw stevia

1/2 dropperful of liquid stevia (I used toffee caramel flavor) – or increase the raw stevia to taste

1 cup 1% cottage cheese

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 medium apples, grated on large holes (I used gala apples)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Whisk dry ingredients together and set aside.  In a separate bowl, mix together all wet ingredients, except grated apple.  Mix wet ingredients with dry, then fold in grated apple.  Your mixture should resemble thick cake batter.  Line a 9 x 13″ pan with parchment paper and pour in mixture. Spread evenly and bake for 25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

apple cinnamon protein cake2

Makes 16 very large, very thick slices of protein cake.  You can cut it into smaller pieces but keep in mind that each piece will not have as much protein in it (if that is your goal; which it is mine).

Nutritional information: (per slice based on 16 slices)

Calories: 134

Fat: 4.8g

Carbs: 7.5g (wahoo!)

Sugar: 2.9 g (yeeeaaah!)

Protein: 19g (woot!)

As you can see, I was able to meet all of my criteria!  And they taste good too.  Another important criteria!

apple cinnamon protein cake3

The Mad Radish says: Package and freeze them in individual freezer bags for an easy snack thrown in your lunch bag!

The Snobby Wasabi says: I have cake for breakfast all the time!  Isn’t that normal?

Leave a Reply

