Peanut Butter Banana Protein Fudgesicles

20140114-120935.jpg

Lately I have been slacking on my blogging!  However, the nice thing about being a blogger that isn’t out to make a buck, there are no deadlines and no boss looking over my shoulder.  However, for my loyal followers, I do apologize for my disappearance from the blogging world!

When I started eating healthier about 3 years ago, peanut butter was one of those things I knew I had to cut back on.  At 100 calories and 8 grams of fat PER TBSP, the benefits are heavily outweighed by the disadvantages.  So, for a few years, I have been an avid user of PB2, or powdered peanut butter.  In one Tbsp, there are only 22 calories and 1 g of fat!  And when mixed into smoothies, baking and frozen treats, you can’t tell the difference. Personally, I do not like it as a spread as the texture is just not the same, but I am not a sandwich kind of gal anyway so into the blender it goes!

This recipe is similar to my Banana Protein Fudgsicles recipe but has been tweaked a bit to satisfy the peanut butter craving in me!

Peanut Butter Banana Protein Fudgsicles

2 very ripe bananas (mine were frozen and chopped but since you are freezing them anyway, it doesn’t matter!)

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

4 scoops of your favourite chocolate protein powder (I use Leanfit whey powder – 120 calories and 2 g carbs per scoop)

1/2 cup PB 2 chocolate (or regular plus 1 Tbsp cocoa)

1/4 cup agave nectar

1.5 tsp vanilla

1 cup plain greek yogurt (I used 2%)

2 droppersful dark chocolate stevia (optional)

Blend until smooth and pour into popsicle molds.  Recipe makes about 12 large fudgesicles.

Nutritional info per fudgesicles.

113 calories, 1.7 g fat, 14g carbs, 12g protein

The Mad Radish says: With 12g of protein each, these are fantastic as a cool treat after a hard workout!

The Snobby Wasabi says: I think fudgesicles are for children and commoners but I may have to make these to eat in secret!

Leave a Reply

