The Good Bean!

new_flavors_pic
One of my favourite stores in my hometown in Alberta, Canada is Nutters Bulk and Natural Foods, which has many locations throughout Canada.  My local one is great; the staff are knowledgeable and friendly and the store carries a large variety of foods and products for all different restricted diets and lifestyles.  Plus, the last Tuesday of every month is 20% off your entire purchase!  And everyone and anyone gets this discount. No signing up for membership cards then forgetting them in a different purse, and no email address requests to get the discount, resulting in an inbox full of spam.  It’s always super busy in there those days but I love to get deals so I go in right at opening and shop quickly.  I will often go in a few days before to scope out the things I want to buy because it is a fun store to browse in but 20% off day is not the day to do that.   

Anyway, this post was not supposed to be about reviewing a store.  It’s actually about reviewing a product that this particular store, among others, sells.  Which leads me to the company, The Good Bean.  Born in 2010, this Berkeley, CA based company deals mainly in roasted chickpeas (they also sell fruit and no-nut bars).  I spotted these particular peas at my local Nutters store and decided to see what all the fuss was about.  After all, I have roasted chickpeas in my oven before and they turned out pretty good.  However, it was a pain to keep reaching in to “shake” the pan to evenly heat them and some still ended up burnt!  And I always ended up with too much seasoning or not enough.  So, I bought one savoury variety, the “smoky chili and lime,” and one sweet variety, the “sweet cinnamon.”  Let me tell you.  These are awesome!  They remind me of corn nuts. Remember those?  Well, they are terrible for you and they are SO crunchy that they can break your teeth.  These, however, are healthy and your teeth stay intact (just remember to brush and floss! – sorry couldn’t help it; it’s the hygienist in me coming out!). And these can be used many ways.  Throw the savoury ones in your salad for an awesome amount of crunch, throw the chocolate or cinnamon ones into your yogurt for a protein packed alternative to granola, or just eat them right out of the bag!  That’s how I like them.  They come in many different flavours to suit anybody’s tastes, including the savoury flavours of smoky chili and lime, mesquite, sea salt, cracked pepper, thai coconut lemongrass and the sweet flavours of chocolate and sweet cinnamon.  Don’t tell there isn’t at least one flavour I listed that is right up your alley!  I am definitely going to buy the thai coconut ones next time!  Oh, and kids love them, especially the sweet flavours and the mesquite ones. They are great for the lunchbox! 

Oh and did I mention they are also available to purchase online?  You can buy big bags or packs of small, single serving bags! In my local store, they came in at $7.29CA, which isn’t cheap but it gives you a bag with 6 servings (6oz) and, to be honest, they are worth it.  Especially not having to make them myself! 

Also, they are gluten free, nut free, soy free and vegan.  As stated on the bag, “one serving (1oz/28g) has as much protein as 23 almonds and as much fiber as 2 cups of broccoli.” And there are no strange, unpronounceable ingredients either. For example, the sea salt ones have these ingredients listed: “roasted chickpeas, safflower or sunflower oil, coarse salt, natural vitamin E.” That’s it!  Try them. You won’t be disappointed. 

 

The Mad Radish says: “This snack meets my healthy snack approval!! Into the lunches they go. Mine included” 

The Snobby Wasabi says: “If they are going to make them for me, why would I bother to make them myself? My time is far too important for that.” 

One response to “The Good Bean!

Leave a Reply

