The easiest applesauce you will ever make

IMG_3078Today is a very dismal day. A dark cloud was literally hanging over me as I drove home from grocery shopping. I needed something to lighten my mood and the kitchen is usually where I find it. And not in the form of cookies and milk. In the simple form of fresh homemade applesauce. Yesterday I was hanging out in my PJs when the door rang and the apple fairy (aka my friend Vikki) stopped by with her daughters to see if I would like any apples from their tree. What a sweet gesture. Never one to pass up free healthy food, I took a big bag from her. I brought them back into the house and piled them up high into my two-tiered fruit stand. They filled the whole thing. Hmmmm. We like apples but there was no way we were going to eat them all before they went bad! So, I came home from grocery shopping today where I had bought a bunch of fruit and realized that there was nowhere to put any of it with all those apples! So that brings me to applesauce making. This couldn’t be any easier. I’m telling you. It takes about 15 minutes start to finish. But you need a high powered blender like a Vitamix to make it. What you need: Apples Cinnamon (optional) A lemon A vitamix or similar high powered blender Directions: roughly chop apples into pieces just small enough to fit in the top hole of the blender lid. Mine were small apples so I cut them into about 6 pieces each. NO NEED TO PEEL OR CORE THEM! Even the stems are fine! Put blender on lowest speed and drop apple chunks onto the blades a few at a time. Keep your hand close to the opening at first because apple chunks may come flying back out. Add more and more apple chunks, turning up speed slowly as blender becomes more full. Continue until blender is almost full, leaving at least two inches of air room at the top. Squeeze the juice from half a lemon and add 1/2 tsp of cinnamon (optional, or to taste) and continue to blend. At the end, turn blender to highest speed (aka pulverize mode!) and blend for one minute or until a very smooth texture is achieved. That’s it! It makes a ton and it freezes well. It’s also great to give away! And there is so much fiber in it since every part of the apple is in there. Good luck! ~ The Mad Radish and The Snobby Wasabi

IMG_3077.JPG

IMG_3076.JPG

IMG_3075.JPG

IMG_3078.JPG

One response to “The easiest applesauce you will ever make

Leave a Reply

